Champions League – Who Will Make Knock-Out Stages?

The race to win the Champions League is hotting up as the top teams ready for the knock-out stage with a single matchday remaining.

Some teams still have work to do to guarantee passage to the next round:

  • Group A: for Manchester United not to qualify, they need to lose by at least six goals and second-place Basel must beat Benfica. What happens to Basel and CSKA Moscow hangs in the balance. Both have four points, but Basel has the better goal difference.

Whoever grabs second goes through, while the third-place team drops to the Europa League.

  • Group B: Paris St Germain set a new first phase scoring record of 24 goals and conceding one. Bayern Munich are the other qualifiers.
  • Group C: Chelsea will top the group if they win or draw against Atletico Madrid, unless second place Roma score a hatful of goals. Atletico can only qualify if Roma lose and they beat Chelsea.
  • Group D: Barcelona are through and second is between Juventus and Sporting Lisbon. If Juventus beat Olympiakos they qualify as well, but a draw will do if Lisbon lose at Barcelona.
  • Group E: Liverpool go through with a win or a draw. Sevilla will join them if they beat Maribor. Spartak Moscow could make the final rounds if they beat Liverpool at Anfield.
  • Group F: Manchester City are through and will be joined by Shaktar Donetsk if they don’t lose against City and Napoli do not beat Feyenoord. Napoli can only go through if they and City win.
  • Group G: Besiktas are through, leaving Porto and RB Leipzig to battle for the final place. Whoever wins the next match goes through with Besiktas.
  • Group H: Tottenham Hotspur are group winners and Real Madrid take second place.

In each group, the top two go through to the next phase of the Champions League in 2018, while third place are relegated to the Europa League and the team coming last is eliminated.

If the group positions stay the same, England has five qualifying teams, Spain has three, Italy has two, while Switzerland, France, Germany, Turkey, Portugal and the Ukraine all have one.